Google made an Internet service that allows you to check the efficiency of solar panels

Google continues to develop its Project Sunroof service, which allows to evaluate the efficiency and feasibility of installing solar panels on the roofs of houses in a specific locality (taking into account the roof slope, the height of the sun above the horizon, the number of sunny days per year, the presence of shading objects).

Now the service has a new tool – Data Explorer, showing a map of existing solar installations in nearby areas throughout the US. Data Explorer combines the technology of computer learning with the analysis of images from Google Maps and Google Earth.

The developed algorithms of machine learning can now automatically find and identify solar installations in photographs. This can be both photovoltaic panels that produce electricity, and solar hot water heaters.

Project Sunroof, launched by Google in 2015, has already covered 50 US states and has become available for the first time outside the country. Now it is launched in Germany.

Function Data Explorer while working only in the US, where he analyzes data on nearly 60 million buildings. At the moment, Data Explorer has discovered about 700 thousand solar installations in the US (although the Association of Solar Energy Producers (SEIA) says about 1.3 million units).

According to Senior Software Engineer Project Sunroof Karl Elkin, the main task of Data Explorer is to help people make informed decisions about whether to invest in solar energy.

Google believes that the invention will stimulate people to use solar energy

EnglishRussia

В Google сделали интернет-сервис позволяющий проверять эффективность солнечных батарей

Компания Google продолжает развивать свой сервис Project Sunroof, который позволяет оценить эффективность и целесообразность установки солнечных панелей на крыши домов в конкретной местности (с учётом угла наклона крыши, высоты солнца над горизонтом, количества солнечных дней в году, наличия затеняющих объектов).

Теперь у сервиса появился новый инструмент — Data Explorer, показывающий карту существующих солнечных установок в близлежащих районах по всей территории США.  Data Explorer сочетает в себе технологию компьютерного обучения с анализом изображений из Google Maps и Google Earth.

Разработанные алгоритмы машинного обучения теперь могут автоматически находить и идентифицировать солнечные установки на фотографиях. Это могут быть как фотоэлектрические панели, которые производят электричество, так и солнечные нагреватели горячей воды.

Сервис Project Sunroof, запущенный компанией Google в 2015 году, и уже обеспечил покрытие 50 штатов США и впервые стал доступным за пределами страны. Теперь он запущен в Германии.

Функция Data Explorer пока работает только на территории США, где анализирует данные о почти 60 млн зданий. На данный момент Data Explorer обнаружил около 700 тыс. солнечных установок в США ( хотя Ассоциация производителей солнечной энергетики (SEIA) говорит о 1,3 млн установок) .

По словам старшего программного инженера Project Sunroof Карла Элкина, основной задачей Data Explorer, является помощь людям в принятии взвешенных решений о том, инвестировать ли им в солнечную энергию.

В Google полагают, что изобретение будет стимулировать людей пользоваться солнечной энергией

EnglishRussia